Ohio Game Fishing banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2,388 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Haven't tied forever lately. Been busy Bass fishing and Crappie fishing. So I finally tied a couple Nymphs and Dry Flies last night for some Trout fishing. I'm kinda new to fly fishing and just wanted to see what you guys thought. Thanks:)

·
Registered
708 Posts
Those look pretty good, Rod Hawg. The 1st one (the dry fly) I would put a few more hackle wraps on it. The 2nd one (the emerger) maybe just trim the hair at the head a little bit shorter. Other than that, good job, they'll both fish fine the way they are too.

·
Registered
2,388 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks.I will. I'm a fly tying noobie. Really enjoy it in the winter time. But rarely do it in the summer. Really enjoy catching fish on something you made. Anyway. Thanks for the pointers:)

·
Registered
1,531 Posts
Nice. Just one thing, its hard to tell on your flies, but try not to crowd the eye of the hook with thread and other materials(kinda looks like you did on the first one) because once you start using them the thread will unravel and come apart. Overall looking good!

ps. if you ever fish for wild brookies somewhere use the first fly, they will slam it

·
Registered
2,388 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
On the Adams Dry Fly. I crowded it just a little to much. So typically when I do that I put a little varnish on them to keep from slipping. The Elk Hair Caddis and Hare's Ear had plenty of room around the hook eye. Thanks for the tip however! Just want to become a better tier.

·
Registered
218 Posts
It's hard to say from the angle, but the elk hair on the EHC looks pretty long. Of course, the fish probably won't care a whit.

·
Registered
2,388 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·