close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

jug fishing

Discussion in 'Catfish Discussion' started by neagles, May 23, 2007.

1. thought about tring this style of fishing this weekend. anybody have any tips or rules that i need to follow. also where in central ohio would be good to jug fish.

2. misfit

misfit MOD SQUAD

check the regulations on the dnr site for details.

3. What do you mean here we go agian. I was talking to a guy last weekend and he told me about jug fishing. I have never done it before and i thought i would try it with the grand kids.

4. I'm sure what Misfit meant by check the regulations, is that there are many requirements for the jugs, ex: maximum lines (for the type of water), hook type, properly identifiying your jug with your information, prohibited areas, etc. When I've done it, there was always a feeling of apprehension in not wanting to forget or lose a jug somewhere (littering is already bad enough). Otherwise it can be fun.....nothing like the curious feeling you have as you approach a jug by boat and it starts moving around quickly and bobbing up and down.

5. Neagles, Look A Page Back On A Thread That Was About Jug Fishing, And You Will See What I Mean By "here We Go Again" People Have Asked About Jug Fishing On Here Before. Go Back To That Thread And See What Kind Of Response It Got. I Myself Love To Jug Fish. It Is A Thrill To Chase A Jug, But A Lot Of People On Here Dont Like It.

6. misfit

misfit MOD SQUAD

if that's the case,then why didn't you offer up some advise,instead of just tossing out a negative one liner?:confused: :confused:

7. Lewzer

Lewzer Powderfinger

I put reflective tape around the bottom of the jug to help make spotting them easier on the lake at night.
    When the spotlight hits them, they just light up. Get a good spotlight too if you're fishing them in the middle of a lake.