Ohio Game Fishing banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
516 Posts
I think they are fine......

They are much maligned by most fisherman. I for one dont understand since I think they taste fine. Either my sences are dulled or I'm an amazing cook. I think they get a bad reputation since they are considered to be a trash fish by Lake Erie walleye fisherman and are often caught by simple means from the bank by simple fisherman.

There is no doubt they are very sporty fish and fairly indiscriminant for anglers.

I would suggest cuting the sides off a few, throwing them in some cajun batter and in a some hot peanut oil until they are white and flakey. Don't listen to the Nay sayers, make up your own mind.

·
Fisherman
2,352 Posts
definitely! I once did a test. I took a single wild caught female and filleted the fish. I fried one both sides, but left the skin and red line on one (was for mom) and skinned and cut out the red line on the other. both were fried in the same oil, and same seasonings. the former was very fishy, a little muddy, and had a fatty taste. the latter was clean and had a good fish taste to it. so cut that line and take off the skin!

·
Registered
2,144 Posts
I tried my first white bass this year. We were catching some really nice 16" to 18" fish while perch fishing. So we kept 2 just to try them. They don't taste bad. They are actually pretty good. They remind me a lot of a crappie. The meat is kind of mushy. It isn't a firm meat like a walleye or a perch. But taste just fine. We ate them the same day we caught them...

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks. Im heading to Atwood where they seem to dominate so I figure while im looking for cats I could also try my luck at some white bass and maybe get a couple hags for the freezer.

·
Registered
9,306 Posts