close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

I'm an amateur - suggestions welcomed...

Discussion in 'Southwest Ohio Fishing Reports' started by KevinAce, Jul 17, 2007.

1. KevinAce

KevinAce Suckfest Fisherman

I fished Eastwood a few times on a boat with a buddy & had a little bit of luck catching some large mouths on rubber worms. Needless to say, I was quickly addicted.

Unfortunately, I haven't been able to get back out on the water with him & his boat...so I've been trying to fish from the shores. I've put in about 20-25 hours of fishing and have been skunked. If I caught a lot & had a drought, I wouldn't mind. But this has been a bit demoralizing.

Would you guys mind giving me a few pointers on how a beginner should start? I'm not looking to land 5 pound bass. Snagging a small bluegill or a small catfish would satisfy me at this point.

I've tried worms, top waters (buzz bait mostly), spinners, rapalas (small, medium, large, all at different depths) all to no avail. I've tried Eastwood, Possum Creek, and Huffman Dam with varying conditions (wind, temperature, sunlight, etc).

Perhaps you guys could point me to a place that's a good place to start out (I'm in Beavercreek OH)? Also recommend some decent bait to start with?

Hopefully I can get out of this slump & become addicted to fishing again!

2. fshnteachr

fshnteachr Lovin' the Outdoors

3 years ago I knew little to nothing about fishing and went on a canoe trip with my uncle. Once I caught my first bass I was hooked. It IS addicting!! Experience and trial and error are your best teachers.

Have you tried the rivers? Personally, I fish rivers almost exclusively. The water is shallower and, I think, easier to catch fish than lakes. But, that is just me....because without a boat and electronics it seems it is hard to find the right spots on the lake to fish. Hard to put a fishfinder and depthfinders on my kayak! :) (Even though I have seen them :)