Ice thickness question.

Discussion in 'Hard Water Discussions' started by jobu, Jan 17, 2008.

1. I tried ice fishing last year during the long period of colder weather. Loved it! At the time, the ice was over a foot thick so thickness was not and issue. I want to get out this season, but want to be safe about it. I am about 260-270 lbs so I'll need a little more thickness than you smaller guys. How thick would the ice have to be for you to be "comfortable". I'm talking comfortable with little to no "pucker factor", and no bow in the ice. Please list your approximate weight too. As a noob, I'm trying to get an idea of "safe" ice thickness here. I know that there are different types of ice with some being stronger than others. Let's say that its not really weak porous ice, but the strong solid black ice either. Let's say it of medium strength. Thanks in advance for your replies. I'd rather not have to take a swim to learn about this. I'm sure a fair number of you have.

2. hardwaterfan

hardwaterfan Twinsburg, OH (NE OH, northern edge of Summit Co.)

for me being totally comfortable i need about 4" of ice on ponds and about 6" on big lakes. i want to see the ice pretty clear when i drill, at least the bottom 2/3. id say thats medium strength. i dont want to see any water coming out of the hole. i dont want to see any areas where the ice has broken up and refrozen. im about 170.

if you want to be safe follow in other peoples tracks. youll see the paths. footprints, shanty tracks, etc.

shorelines are the trickiest areas.

3. 3" of really good hard ice would hold you all day long

4. leadcorebean

leadcorebean Charter Captain

well im 240 and i like to have atleast 4 inches any thing less and im not having a good time.. its not worth going in for a swim.. im sure u will get the same answer from everyone just use your better judgement or atleast take some safety gear

5. KSUFLASH

KSUFLASH respect our rivers please

4" for me as well.