Ice Fishing Jigs..a few questions

Discussion in 'Hard Water Discussions' started by Salmonid, Dec 18, 2008.

1. I am new to this ice fishing gig and have a few questions regarding ice fishing jigs. Ill be mostly fishing for crappies, Bluegills and perch.
    1st question, what types of jigs do all you panfishermen like to use out there?

2nd, What size do you guys like and why? 1/32, 1/64/ etc. and does it change with different species?

Last, I hear the Glow in the dark jigs are the way to go, what is everyones thoughts on that. Do they really make a big difference?

Just waiting for ice now, Thanks guys!!

Salmonid

2. Perchy101

Perchy101 Here Fishy Fishy Fishy

There is a 40 pc set on jammin jigs for 12$ right now. It has all sorts and sizes in it. Most of the jigs are made for the pan fish.

Also, if your going to be fishing a private farm pond for gills/crappie - I'd go with the Ant jig. They are absolutely dangerous for gills..

3. ...As Perchy101 says...Jammin Jigs would be a good start..the assortment will give you a variety..after that you will add one here and two there...What ever you feel would create a strike...Colors vary from day to day...Have some I have never used but look good...There is a ton out there...C.L....

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 30, 2015
  4. Bassmastermjb (Mark) has a huge assortment at his tackle shop. His prices are darn cheap also.

5. ParmaBass

ParmaBass Kiss The Converse

Size 10 is just about all I use. I've landed everything from 4lb Bass to 4" bluegill. I have some glow jigs, but don't use them ALL the time. I usually don't fish really deep water or at night though. Goto a local shop and pick out some you like, find a type or color you like or get their opinion about what colors work well in your area. Once you find jigs you like go nuts and fill the box! Jammin makes good jigs. I'd say 75% of my ice jigs are Jammin.

6. hardwaterfan

hardwaterfan Twinsburg, OH (NE OH, northern edge of Summit Co.)