Ohio Game Fishing banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
377 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I live in Delaware, and since I came to Ohio about 4 years ago I've never caught a pike. Truthfully I've never really tried though, and am not even really sure where around here I even have the chance of catching them! What rivers or lakes around here have them? I hear they'll hit "anything" according to some people, but I doubt that. It makes it sound too easy. No good fishing is that easy!

Posted using Outdoor Hub Campfire

·
A one-man wolfpack...
3,159 Posts
Hey - I'm no expert, but I believe that there are some pike opportunities in Ohio, maybe in the Scioto north of O'Shay (don't quote me on that), but if you really want to guarantee a catch, take a drive up to northern Michigan and try some of the lakes up there. Ohio isn't really a mecca for northerns. Anyway, I've been vacationing up there most of my life and pike are almost as easy to catch as the bass. They will hit anything, not nearly as difficult to catch as its muskie cousin, assuming that they are around in the first place. And they are a blast, no doubt, because they are ambush predators and haul ass like a freight train once hooked. You don't need to go as far north as the UP. Any inland lake should suffice, but I would do some local scouting first before committing to 6 to 8 hours in the car...

·
Hard Core Fishing Fool!
355 Posts
People do catch them in the Scioto north of Oshay. But your best bet bet is to get on the northeast Ohio forum. Check out Gone fishing bait and tackle. They have a sticky thread there. Give him a call and he will help you out for the Cuyahoga. Always wanted to try up there but haven't made it yet. People also catch them in the Mohican, Walhonding, Tuscawaras, Killbuck, Mosquito Lake. There are a lot of thread on the northeast forum. If you get some post some pics. Good luck!

·
Registered
21 Posts