close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

I had no idea.....

Discussion in 'Catfish Discussion' started by Reel Lady, Jul 28, 2004.

1. Reel Lady

Reel Lady Dreams DO come true!

Gosh, I feel really bad now... Reel Man (Rob) and I caught 3 beautiful catfish at West Branch a few nights ago. They were the biggest fish that either of us had ever caught. (each was 20 lbs) Well, we kept them....took pictures of them... showed them off to our neighbors and kids... and, yes... (gulp...), fileted them :eek:
    I am new to this whole boating thing, and lack "catfish" knowledge. I have read so many posts regarding catch and release, especially in the catfish discussions. I had absolutely NO idea that catfish (and others) were in danger of extinction if "catch and release" was not implemented.
    I felt so guilty watching these fish being fileted, simply because they were so big, and had lived so many (peaceful) years... and then "I" had to come along and end there life for really NO GOOD REASON! To be honest, I dont really like to eat fish anyway!
    What I can tell you is that there is no way in the world I will ever participate in that again... I will continue to catch.... take a nice digital photo or 2 or 3.....give the cat a big "Thank You!"... and then send him back into its undisturbed world to hopefully have lots of little cats one day. :D
    I LOVE this website and continue to learn more and more from each and every one of you. Thank you ALL! :)

Reel Lady (Marcia)[​IMG]

2. catking

catking Banned