How would you setup?

Discussion in 'Bucks and Does' started by gpb1111, Oct 28, 2008.

1. If you were offered to hunt prime hunting land for one day and were not allowed to scout it at all, where would you setup a stand? At the field edge? Deep in the woods? 20 yards into the woods? What do you think?

2. MSN maps birds eye, google maps, map quest, USGS topo maps, take all this and look for likely travel routes, sheltered feeding areas, water sources. Not knowing anything else I would probably set up 20 or 30 yds inside the woodline near the best corner of the field for the given wind. but I am not the best, perhaps one of the more accomplished hunters here have some better ideas.

3. Seaturd

Seaturd Catcher of Fish

I'd look for prime bedding areas near a current food source and set up between the two. Taking wind direction into consideration and looking for funnel areas would be my two top priorities. I'm not an expert though.

4. I agree, I would figure out where they are feeding at night and then try to figure out where they are bedding. I would then set up within 50 yards of their bedding area. Set up before morning and wait for them to make their way from the fields to their beds.

Oh yeah, you need to find a way to sneak in from the opposite direction of the fields they are feeding in so you don't spook them.

5. So, most of you would hunt the bedding area over the feeding and watering areas? What if the property didn't have bedding areas but, it had decent feeding and watering areas? Would you setup in the woods or at the field edge?