Ohio Game Fishing banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to trolling and need some help getting to the right speed. I have a 24v 70# powerdrive v2 and a 90 hp Mercury. At idle the 90 hp does about 2.7 on a calm day. I would like to troll cranks between 2 and 2.5.

I tried 40” drift socks off the bow eye and off the back and both made the boat very difficult to control.

I have not tried trolling in reverse as that does not sound fun, especially on choppy days. I do not have splash guards on the stern.

I found that I can slow by a tenth or two by dropping the trolling motor in and can drop an additional tenth or two by turning it sideways.

I am wondering if I could further slow the boat by running the trolling motor against the main motor? Would that damage anything at slow speeds?

Any other tips or suggestions are welcome but I am very interested in the possibility of setting the electric at a very slow speed against the main motor to slow things down by less than 1 mph.

Thanks to anyone who can help!

·
Registered
799 Posts
Put a Easy troll plate on the motor or put a set of Nauticus smart tabs pro trollers on the boat. The easy troller folds down blocking the prop from pushing the boat as fast, it folds back up when you are operating at normal speed. The smart tabs go on the boats stern and create drag to slow the boat down, they also provide stern lift and prevent listing at cruising speed. With a easy troll plate you lose some control steering because the props blocked. I have the smart tabs and like them, installed them myself the instructions are clear enough for anyone to install.

·
Registered
1,007 Posts