Ohio Game Fishing banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I am new to the whole jigging thing for walleye. I have tried to read everything i could on here about it but I still have a few questoins about the drift and all. Which way should one cast there jig? (with the drift or agianst it) Do people typically anchor down or drift the reefs? What is the deal with the all important mud line. I always hear people talk about it but how do you fish it? and why is is so important? How long does it typically take the lake to clear up once there is favorable winds/ no wind? For the jigs what are a good weight to start out with? and when do you increase weight (when the waves are bigger) How long does the spawing/ reef fishing last? Will the lake be fishable by thurs/friday of this week? Thanks for any info you guys have all been great and good luck.

·
761 Posts
I'll try and tackle a couple. If you have a decent drift, many times you can just let out enough line to get a 45 degree anglewith your line (not much when you are in 10-12 feet of water), and hop the jig off the bottom 8-12". Use a jig just heavy enough to maintain contact with the bottom. Stinger hook is a must. Do not anchor - most people drift, and if you do anchor, you are liable to get drifted into. Many times if there is a distinct mud line, the fish will be along it, but all this wind has things stirred up, so everything will be pretty stained. Visibility was not good Saturday, but we still did well. Good luck!

·
KrustyDawg
2,633 Posts