close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

How to catch walleye in deeper water?

Discussion in 'Walleye & Saugeye Discussions' started by Reel Lady, Jun 27, 2005.

1. Reel Lady

Reel Lady Dreams DO come true!

Ok.. here is my question. (I'm a newbie in the Walleye department :eek: )
    If I know that Walleye can be found in, lets just say, 40 feet of water, How would we go about fishing for them if we dont have the whole downrigger/dipsy/planer boards set up?

2. Hook N Book

Hook N Book The Original Hot Rod Staff Member

You trolling or drifting...???

Trolling;
    FYI: Planer boards serve two purposes:
    They get the baits away from the boat and allows you to run more lines in your spread. It's said walleye will move to the sides away from the boat when trolling. I haven't been able to comfirm or deny this but I have caught fish directly behind the boat with short and long leads. Generally, more fish come from one of the outside lines. So I would recommend investing in at least one set of offshore boards. This will allow you to run at least 4 lines. You can also use a deep diving crank with an inline snap weight. You will be able to get the bait down to the 35-40 ft. range if you're marking fish at that depth. Allow about 1 oz. of weight per 10 ft. of desired depth.

Drifting:
    Asumming there's a good enough breeze for a good drift this method can be deadly for walleye. :D If it's to much of a breeze a good drift sock is in order. Use bottom bouncers with a worm harness or a floating jig head with a minnow. Use a 36" lead with the floating jig head. Gulp is a good artificial to use if you do not like live bait and it's certainly more durable and less prone to the rough fish constantly pulling it off.

If those methods don't yield any results I'll go to my backup plan and pull out the C4 :D

3. Reel Lady