close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Hoover Flatheads

Discussion in 'Central Ohio Fishing Reports' started by spidey, Jun 18, 2007.

1. Ok, I've been fishing Hoover since 1993. I've caught an untold number of channel cats while fishing for them or not. I was fishing for bass on Saturday, and as usual, caught some pretty nice size channels in addition to the bass I managed to connect with. And then there was this 2 pound hellion of a flathead. Shocked the crap out of me. I knew what it was, but was staring at it in disbelief for nearly five minutes doubting what I was looking at. Have flatheads always been there and I've just been living under a rock? If so, do they get as big as the river flatheads? Are they worth targetting?

2. Mushijobah

Mushijobah Urban Angler

They havn't been stocked, and are a remnant of Big Walnuts original flathead population. I would imagine there are some huge ones in there, but are probably pretty hard to locate/group. I hope that helps!

3. Yeah, it does. Thanks, Mushijobah. I'm just wondering why it took 14 years for me to accidentally catch one. But it looks like they are reproducing, so, I may try the north end of the lake one night with some sunfish or something. I haven't fished for flatheads since I left South Carolina.

4. misfit

misfit MOD SQUAD

i haven't targeted them(i don't know why)but they've been in there forever,as mushi said,i've caught several smaller ones while saugeye fishing,but you can bet there are some nice ones in there,and they are caught.people just don't advertise it;)

5. SwollenGoat

SwollenGoat Scourge of Hoover

Yeah, I managed one last year trolling a worm harness for 'eyes. Even a little 2 lb.-er puts up a heck of a fight. I imagine there are some big boys in there.