close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Hoover Carp?

Discussion in 'Central Ohio Fishing Reports' started by Tornichio, May 3, 2004.

1. I was planning on giving hoover a serious try for carp fishing this year. I have never tried fishing for carp there before, but I fished with zfish last year and saw some really nice ones jumping around. Could any of you guys that fish this lake regularly point me in the right direction for places to try fishing. I am a catch and release guy. I have a good feeling about this lake holding some monsters in it. I hope to give it a serious go this year.

Thanks,
    Marc

2. dfoxfish

dfoxfish chairbustintruckdrowner

large carp are plentiful in hoover. a couple of the best baits i've used in hoover were wheaties and anise (licorice) flavored doughs. in the past, before i owned a boat, my best spots were on the west side along the open bank within sight of the dam. hope this helps. :D

3. Hoover is definitely a lake I've been wanting to try...seems like a perfect big carp lake. Like you, though, i don't really know where to start as far as fishing for them. I've yet to fish it because i usually end up fishing Alum Creek if I head up that way, but it's a lake i'm interested in. Might have to give it a try this year...

4. tpet96

tpet96 Banned

CW and Torch.......I have a few ideas. MIght take a boatride to find the exact ledges I'm looking for. They do exist though, I promise you that ;)

5. thanks guys for the information. This lake screams 40lbs + fish to me. I have seen some nice ones jumping out of the water before. I am waiting till a little later in the year since the lake is so deep it takes longer to warm up. My plans are to fish the rivers near my house untill they get to warm then move over to hoover. I have done a little scouting earlier in the year. If you guys want to do some fishing let me know. I will keep you posted with my results.

Thanks again

6. Zfish

Zfish More Horsepower Raider!!