Ohio Game Fishing banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,
I am a student at OU and an avid fisherman. I'm really excited to start fishing the hocking regularly after reading old posts. Just curious as to when I should start looking to the river this fall to get into some sauger and saugeye. Also what presentation seems most effective for the fall bite? Thank you

Posted using Outdoor Hub Campfire

·
Just a blind man trying to catch a fish!!!!!!
1,978 Posts
You can catch them now but in low numbers. Starts picking up good in Oct.
Try using the simple lure of jig head and white grub slowly bounced or drug on the bottom where fast water meets slow

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you Riverwader, in the few hears I've been a member here I've noticed that when it comes to southeastern you have quite the know how. Thank you for all the contributions!

·
Registered
48 Posts
That is a good presentation, where the back current meets the main river current usually is a little deeper not always but fish wait for food there and are more comfortable in that area. dont be suprised to get on smallmouth bass using that same aproach. if you can get in and wade you can fish some great spots!

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I am more than willing to wade just hoping to do so safely! The sauger bite turns back on in the fall even though they aren't spawning, the fish feed as the water cools in preparation for winter when they will feed less

·
Registered
3,071 Posts
They feed all winter long, some of our best trips on the Ohio have been in Dec/Jan/Feb. I was referring to the bite in the Hocking. There's a big push of them up the river in the spring and the bite can be ridiculously hot.

·
Registered
3,071 Posts
How far from athens is the Belleville lock and dam?