Ohio Game Fishing banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Banned
4,478 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Being a strickly Saugeye/Smallmouth angler I never really got into Crappie. Then one day last year I was-en route to my S-eye hole and came across a guy laying into slabs. For the next three weeks we proceeded to fish the same stretch of shoreline and absolutely slay Crappie: every/every other cast would produce a strike. It was almost like fishing for white bass, the action was non-stop for hours on end!

So come mid April I started to drool: The Crappie are coming soon! But for whatever reason they haven't returned to the same strech of shoreline (yet). I've been down there 4 times in the last 2 weeks, skunked each time. My buddy went down there tonight and managed 5 in like 2 hours...This time last year we shoud have got close to 40+ an hour...

So I ask the Pro's...Are they just not shallow yet (find that hard to belive..but im no Crappie expert) Are is it that Crappie don't necc. return to the same spawning grounds year after year???

BTW the shoreline in question is located in Griggs res....Shakedown you fish Griggs quite a bit: are the Crappie still suspended? are have they moved shallow yet? I wan't some slabs damit! lol

·
Registered
333 Posts
My dad was On alum yesterday and caught 40 nice sized Crappie lots of 10's and a few 12's They were shallow. He was there early w/o a bite and at 11 am they turned on on a shallow cove. Less than 4 feet.....It was the first time he's ever ran outta minnows !

I think as the water heats up they are Not always shallow and not always deep ? Hows that for vague ?!

·
Registered
11,409 Posts