Ohio Game Fishing banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
1,512 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am no expert and the fact that this story happened while I was browsing the fishing section at Kmart makes that obvious. I hear a young guy (18-20) asking a few goofballs some questions about fishing gear and lures. They gave no answers other than they just run trotlines. He then starts telling them about how he is trying to learn how to fish and talking a lot about this app on his iphone that tells you when the fish are biting and when you should go. I look over and notice that he has three things in his hand; 4"crankbait, cheap light spincast combo, and a pack of freeze dried shad. He continues to pick through a combination of items that left me scratching my head. I was just there killing time so at this point I was locked in like it was the season finally of The Walking Dead. The whole time his girlfriend was actually giving him really good advice which he completely ignored. Example; "That reel is crap" to which he replied "No i'm pretty sure these ones cast further than the others" Then then started complain about the lures not saying what fish they will catch on the package.

I couldn't take it anymore so I struck up a conversation with the kid. I didn't want to tell him what to do so I just asked him some questions and started steering him in the right direction. Over a few minutes he had put down everything in his hand. Turns out he was planning on spending $100 to get himself started. Without guidance he would have tossed it all in the garbage.