Ohio Game Fishing banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
D'Angelo
164 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to fishing the Ohio for Wipers/Stripers. I have several setups that have been successful in catching smaller Wipers (3-4lbs) but I'm looking into purchasing a setup for larger fish. I've spoken with several guys about their outfits and it seems that they generally have striper setups equipped with a 4000-6000 size reel and rods that range from 8'6" to 10'. I'm looking for advice as I generally fish as light as I can, but I understand that it's important to be able to muscle those fish in during swift currents. I've found a Shimano Stradic 8000 for sale at a really good price. Did some research on the reel and it's the same size as the 6000 the spool jut allows for more line. Do you guys think this is overkill? If not, what size rod would you recommend? If it matters I'm a fairly small guy. Also, to the few gentlemen who I met the other day (Andrew, Will, Louis, Paul) just wanna say thanks again for the feedback and advice. Tight lines and thanks in advance.

·
The one others want to be
2,212 Posts
I've caught some very large jack crevalle on my 4000 Stradic with no issues. Also some 3'-4' sharks. And a bunch of redfish and they will outfight any wiper/striper you'll ever tangle with. Heck, I've caught a number of bull reds with my 1000 Stradic but I wouldn't recommend it unless you can chase the fish. But, I can't see anything wrong with going to the bigger Stradics if you are comfortable with them. I'd go with a 7' medium-heavy rod with a fast tip.

·
Registered
3,374 Posts