Help with putting grease on bearings

Discussion in 'Boats and Motors' started by Young Whiskers, Apr 11, 2008.

1. Can anyone tell me (or point me in the right direction) how to load grease into the bearings on my trailer. It is a single axle trailer without brakes, and there are bearing buddies on each wheel. I have never done this before, so any help would be appreciated.

I have looked online and seen a few tutorials for how to repack a bearing on a trailer that does not have bearing buddies, but have not yet seen one with bearing buddies.

Kevin

2. fishingguy

fishingguy The Inferior Fisherman

You need a grease gun and tube of grease. Murray's has them. There is a grease fitting on the buddy. Pump grease in until it starts to come out the weep hole.

3. also;

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 30, 2015
  4. Are you trying to check and repack the bearings or just add bearing grease?

5. I didn't review all the info in the other posts but I would suggest you check out the bearing buddy website - maybe starting with their FAQ. Info on correctly removing the buddies, etc. Proper removal is important because if you goof up they tend to fall out sometime down the road.

Lots of good detailed info - Here is an example:
    >>>>>>>
    3. With Bearing Buddy® installed, how often do I need to repack my bearings? We don't recommend inspecting your bearings more frequently than once every 5 years, provided you properly maintain the grease level in the hubs, and your bearings and seals are in new condition when you install genuine Bearing Buddy®. The Bearing Buddy® system maintains a constant pressure of 3 p.s.i. on the grease inside the hub. Since the hub is always full of grease (with proper maintenance) there is no need to repack your bearings. Some customers have reported that their Bearing Buddy® units were removed for the first time after 10 to 15 years of use, and the bearings still looked like new.
    >>>>>>>>