close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Help with Lures and presentation

Discussion in 'Tackle Talk' started by dnm, May 21, 2005.

1. dnm

dnm

Hi all,

This might sound REALLY weird, but I am EXTREMELY new to fishing. Im not quite hip to all the lingo and other things yet but am trying to learn.

Basically was wondering if anyone out there would be willing to help educate me as to the purpose of different lures, presentation tips, which lure for which fish stuff like that....

I know this sounds like a big order to fill, but Im not looking for instant gratification. If someone could help me through the board or by PM or emails, I would be VERY VERY appreciative

Thanks
    Dnm

2. hardwaterfan

hardwaterfan Twinsburg, OH (NE OH, northern edge of Summit Co.)

it might be better for you to pick one species of fish (ie. largemouth bass or crappie, etc.) and learn them one at a time.

even the changing seasons dictates a change in technique. and different people will have their own favorite methods.

for example. say you want to target largemouth bass in the summer. i would use "topwater" lures fished around heavy cover in the evenings.

topwater lures ride the surface of the water. such as plastic floating frogs. or bladed surface baits that chug-chug-chug the water as they are dragged accross it.

other people would say use plastic worms rigged up XXX style. use lizards. use crankbaits. use this, use that.

theres a lot to learn!

if you are going to hit a body of water you could ask "im going to hit a river this morning and id like to catch smallmouth bass because i heard they are running, can anyone suggest some good tactics for catching them?"

i can almost gaurentee youll get some good responses. then youll be on your way.

im always willing to help if i can or if i know, i was helped out a LOT when i first came to these fishing boards, no one can ever know it all, i know theres tons of stuff i still dont know.

3. mrfishohio