close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Help me buy a tower SOON!

Discussion in 'Computing & Gaming Discussions' started by NickRummy, Jul 2, 2007.

1. Ok everyone, I have a lot of experience using computers and doing minor upgrades like RAM, power supply installs, drive replacements and things of that nature but I haven't been in the market to buy a new tower in a long time (over 7-8 years) and now the time has come.

I already have a monitor so all I need is the tower.

I use AutoCAD and some rendering software on the side so it'll have to handle that. I have the minimum specs I want but what is starting to confuse me is this new windows vista, this newer dual processor setup and i'm unfamiliar with video cards. I'm not sure what to get and what is bad and good. I have XP now and like it and I have an AMD processor I've had for 7-8 years that has ran like a champ so I definitely like AMD.

Here is what I THINK I need as far as specs. I'd like to stay at $500 and below for the tower. (without knowing much about the processors, vista and video card)

Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+(2.2GHz)
    Processor Main Features 64 bit Dual Core Processor
    Cache Per Processor 2 x 512KB L2 Cache
    Memory 1GB DDR2
    Hard Drive 160GB SATA
    Optical Drive 1 DVD-Dual drive (DVD+/-RW)
    Graphics NVIDIA GeForce 6100
    Ethernet Gigabit LAN
    Power Supply 250-watt power supply
    Keyboard USB multimedia keyboard
    Mouse optical mouse
    Operating System Windows Vista Home Premium
    CPU
    CPU Type Athlon 64 X2
    Installed Qty 1
    CPU Speed 4200+
    L2 Cache Per CPU 2 x 512KB
    CPU Main Features 64 bit Dual Core Processor
    Graphics
    GPU/VPU Type NVIDIA GeForce 6100
    Graphics Interface Integrated video
    Memory
    Memory Capacity 2GB DDR2
    Memory Spec 1GB x 2
    Memory Slots (Available/Total) 2/4
    Maximum Memory Supported 4GB
    Hard Drive
    HD Capacity 320GB
    HD Interface SATA
    HD RPM 7200rpm