close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Great Dane: Good Dogs??

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by lg_mouth, Oct 13, 2005.

1. lg_mouth

lg_mouth It's Trigger Time!!!

I am currently waiting to see if Big Chessie will still have his lab pup to give away after the weekend, but I also have a chance at a 2 yr old Great Dane. I am new to dogs and really have no idea about them. I want a big dog, but he has to be good with children, I have a 3 year old daughter. I guess what I am asking is, has anyone had any experience with Danes. I have researched them on the web and they seem to be a good dog breed. Just let me know, pro or con, about Danes. Thanks OGF.

Lg_mouth

2. misfit

misfit MOD SQUAD

i don't know anything about the danes,but my buddy toad(OGF)used to show them,so he can probably give you any info you want/need.i'm sure he'll reply when he gets online.

3. littleking

littleking Crossing Lines LIKE A PRO

danes are great dogs, prone to hip problems and short lifespans though.

4. I had one growing up. Fawn with a black mask. He was the best. They're gentle giants.
    We had to be extra careful during deer season so he didn't end up gettin shot.
    Get yourself a front end loader for pooper-scooper.

5. I've never been around Danes but like any dog they can be gentle and love everything or very aggressive. It depends on how they are raised. Growing up I had a Beagle that hated little kids because of the way the neighbors treated it. They would throw things at it and they would carry her around by the neck. I hope everything works out for you.