close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

gravel pit question

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by bronzebackyac, Aug 4, 2005.

1. bronzebackyac

bronzebackyac Crick Smallie Fisherman

I have been fishing a gravel pit for a couple years now and the largemouth bass that I catch have no color and no lateral line. does anyone know why. I thought maybe the depth and the clear water were a cause. I also only catch small bass nothing of any size. There have to be some breeders in there if there are small ones right?

2. shuvlhed1

shuvlhed1 Banned

Gravel pits aren't known to have the most pollution-free lakes in them. Maybe that has something to do with it.

3. Orlando

Orlando Set The Hook!

Is the water off color? Bass coming out of muddy water can look very bleached out almost white at times

4. It's mostly the amount of sun they are (are in this case aren't) getting. It's much like you or I getting a tan if we are out in the sun or growing pale if we aren't getting much sunlight. With fish it's often a bit more complicated than with you or I getting a tan since the fish also have evolved some camouflage mechanisms but it's still mostly dependent on how much light reaches them.

Also, if you are fishing shallow and catching small, pale fish from a pit then look for deeper structure for the big ones. Those small, pale fish probalby just came shallow to reach some prey small enough for them to eat. The big ones are probably staying suspended all the time or only coming shallow at night. We used to own some well stocked pits down in SW Ohio and we could only catch decent sized bass at night. We usually got them on black buzz baits right in the middle of the pit. The bigger fish would suspend in 30 feet of water all day then come straight up to the surface to feed at night.

Steve

5. bronzebackyac

bronzebackyac Crick Smallie Fisherman