close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Grass carp help

Discussion in 'Carp Discussions' started by collegekid, May 19, 2008.

1. Ok im fairly new to carp fishing. I have targeted and caught a few commons and then the many different kinds in the maumee river. Now I'm home for the summer and have found a small lake that is loaded with HUGE grass carp. I tried to catch them today with no luck. I read previous psts and tried some stuff but not much success. I had one bite, but my line broke when I set the hook because I was too lazy to re-tie after a bluegill took my dough ball and freyed the line. THe bluegill went around two punds though. HUGE!

ok anyway. I was tryin with bread balls. I was chummin the water hard core and the carp were eatin the bread pretty activeley. Sometimes they would go to my bait and turn away real quick. I was using small treble hooks covered completely with the bread. Any tips on other baits and how to better fool those monsters? I plan to 100% catch and release. Just want to catch a three foot fish!

2. ps...they are biting mainly on the surface so i have to float the bait.

3. IMHO:

Lose the trouble hook, flatten half a piece of bread onto your hook. FLAT not a BALL, a few tiny split shot and let it float on top. May be a hassle if ducks are an issue. Also, look to see what is blowing off of bushes/plants/trees onto the water. This is what they are eating. Use it as bait, anything from berries to buds to those little helicopter seeds. Hope it helps.

4. Carpn

Carpn BOWFISHERMAN

Like was said...Lose the treble hook. Get some bagels and use that. They stay on the hook better than bread and float better too.