Ohio Game Fishing banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
live-2-fish
829 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey guys, just bought a 5 foot radius cast net. My buddy in Florida taught me how and i loved it so i got one, i am not a pro at it yet but i can get it to make a pretty good circle. anyways, i was wondering if anyone on here has or does use them. If so, what are the rules with using them in Ohio. and any tips would be great also.

·
Super Moderator
3,974 Posts
:confused:
straight from the fishing regs.

MINNOW OR BAIT FISH TRAPS- It is illegal for anglers to possess or use a minnow or bait fish trap larger than 24 inches in length and 12 inches in width. Additionally, possessing or using a minnow or bait fish trap with an opening larger than one inch is illegal.

CAST NETS- Forage fish may be taken with cast nets only in the Inland Fishing District. It is unlawful to use a cast net with a square mesh less than 1/4 inch or larger than 1 inch on a side, or with a diameter of greater than 10 feet. It is illegal to use a cast net within a distance of 1000 feet downstream from any dam posted with Division of Wildlife signs indicating cast net use is prohibited

·
Enjigneer
1,369 Posts
From the regs:
CAST NETS- Forage fish may be taken with cast nets only in the Inland Fishing District. It is unlawful to use a cast net with a square mesh less than 1/4 inch or larger than 1 inch on a side, or with a diameter of greater than 10 feet. It is illegal to use a cast net within a distance of 1000 feet downstream from any dam posted with Division of Wildlife signs indicating cast net use is prohibited.

http://www.dnr.ohio.gov/wildlife/fishing/fishregs/main.htm

·
Pay-it-foward fisherman
5,251 Posts
Something to add.
Be sure not to keep any no forage fish.
Its unlawful to keep something like a bluegill or crappie from a cast net, even if you are using it for bait.

·
Registered
1,710 Posts