close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Good fillet knives!

Discussion in 'Tackle Talk' started by parmaangler, Jul 3, 2007.

1. I'm new to keeping and eating fish (grew up in a catch and realease family) and now that I'm fishing on lake erie once in awhile we are starting to keep the walleye. I foudn out after filleting our first batch today that we reallt need to invest in a good quality fillet knife that will keep its edge. What brand/type does everyone recommend and where does everyone get them at?

Thanks for the help guys.

2. johnboy111711

johnboy111711 SOLID MEAT

you have to keep and edge on a good filet knife...it doesn't just stay there. you may want to invest in a ellectric filet knife. I perfer a rapala filet knife though. i keep it very very sharp.

3. freyedknot

freyedknot useless poster

rapala or gerber, are good . but as stated you have to keep the blade fresh. american angler electric at walmart for $19.99.is also good and you don't have to sharpen them.

4. Warther's Museum in Dover, Oh is not only a "must see", but their filet knives are by far the best I've ever used. Also have free lifetime sharpening, but I've only had to have 1 sharpened in YEARS! I own all 3 sizes & use them for fresh & saltwater fish & also trimming meat. I sent 1 to a friend in Georgia & he also swears by his.
    Mike

5. fugarwi7

fugarwi7 Lumberjack

Parmaangler...do a search on here...there have been several discussions about fillet knives (electric and manual) and just about every model, source, and price range has been shared.

6. For a large amount of fish go ' ELECTRIC' But to have a handy fillet knife go ' C U T C O ' I've had alot of different ones over the years & the CUTCO which expands is by far the one, I am MOST pleased with. A bit $$ but go look on E-Bay (Sportsman Knife') got mine for $ 55.00. Lifetime everything & sharpening.

Nik,

7. tomb

tomb Tom B.

I also like my Rapala electric.