Gonna need bigger wheels!

Discussion in 'Tackle Making' started by eyesman_01, Dec 12, 2007.

1. eyesman_01

eyesman_01 getting wEYESer every day

What have I gotten myself into? Just clear coated 5 baits, which filled all 4 spots on my wheels, and left me turning one by hand. I can see it now, I'm gonna have to add more hangers!

100_1682.jpg

Here are my 3 latest deep divers...

Clown
    Wally006g.jpg

Black/Silver
    Wally007.jpg

And the Purple People Eater
    Wally008.jpg

2. freyedknot

freyedknot useless poster

those are some great looking lures.

3. CountryKat

CountryKat Fish On!!!

Those look really good. I wish I could figure out how to airbrush and what type of paints to use.

4. eyesman_01

Thanks guys.

I'm no pro at airbrushing, but they're not hard to use. I have a cheap and a little more expensive airbrush. I use the cheap one most on these. I just practice and experiment with different techniques. I use a large piece of cardboard to practice on to get the flow the way I want it before hitting the bait. Just pick one up and start playing with paint and air flow. You'll get the hang of it.

I'm using mostly Testors model paints, both oil and water based, gloss and flat. They all shine once you put your clear coat on. A little bit of thinner and they flow from the airbrush very nicely. The size of baits I'm making don't use much paint. I bet I clean more out of the airbrush than what goes on the bait.

5. Very nice work eyesman! What is your estimate of running depth on those deep divers?

6. ezbite

ezbite the Susan Lucci of OGF

those are sweet. i really like the purple/silver one.

7. I just happen to know a guy that fishes Lake Erie quite often that would probably field test those for you.

8. Wow those look great! I can't wait to here how they run. Love that foil!

9. Man, those are outstanding! You are rockin'!!!:D

10. fugarwi7

fugarwi7 Lumberjack