close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

glow lures/jigs

Discussion in 'Hard Water Discussions' started by hardwaterfan, Dec 7, 2004.

1. hardwaterfan

hardwaterfan Twinsburg, OH (NE OH, northern edge of Summit Co.)

im new to the whole glow jig concept and the jammin jigs lures look awesome, im going to get one of their glow kits but havent decided which one.

www.jamminjigs.com

i was looking at my lures and jigs and the glow lures i have only glow in one color - green. (mostly stuff i got at my local gander mountain from custom jigs and spins) so i want to try some other glowing colors.

do you know of any other good lure makers that have a variety of good glow lures?

as a side note...i discovered that two of my jigging rapalas glow...i never knew that. the white one with the green dot on its head really glows good

2. My experience with glow baits is mainly related to Buckeye Lake ice fishing.

I have done well with Northland's Pixie Jig is chartreuse glow, which is a subtle profile even with maximum charge. I've caught saugeye, crappie, LM bass, and channel cats on this jig (& minnow).

I've also dabbled with other glowing contraptions of various sizes during different conditions and just haven't seen any conclusive (good or bad) results. I've seen guys fish glowing jigging raps & Nils baits with some success, but not so much that it has convinced me of anything.

As far as the whole glow issue, even the magazine gurus haven't come out with a solid blessing or cursing on them. Who knows? Good luck!

3. hardwaterfan

hardwaterfan Twinsburg, OH (NE OH, northern edge of Summit Co.)

thanks for your insights....i was thinking about the crappie that ive seen rise up from the depths after dark and was thinkin they might respond better to a glowing jig.

will have to do some experimenting this winter.