Ohio Game Fishing banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've got to share this story with the forum. When I started learning about serious Muskie fishing, the old timers told me that having good strong pair of wire cutters, capable of cutting through a hook was mandatory equipment for your boat. Many of them told me that the huge, ultra sharp treble hooks used on most Muskie lures became embedded in their hands, or fingers while attempting to unhook a big strong, slimy, slithering, Muskie. Imagine the pain of getting yourself hooked to the same lure a massive thrashing Muskie is hooked to, and having the hooks twisting and driving deeper and deeper into you as the Muskie continues to try to free himself. It's not for the weak of heart. That's why you need the wire cutters, so you can quickly cut the hook that is in you so that you can free yourself ( and end the excruciating pain) to tend to the Muskie. You can then go to the ER later and get the hook out of you. Well dear reader, my story is a little different, and quite hilarious. I caught a small Muskie, 27 inches. I decided not to use my net because of the inevitable tangled snarl that results from a large plug and a thrashing Muskie in your net. It usually takes me about 10 minutes to free the plug from the net, long after the Muskie has been freed and released.So. I decided to just grab the line, and haul him up over the edge of the boat. It all went according to plan until the fish was directly in front of me and I was lowering it to the bottom of the boat. Suddenly, the Muskie thrashed violently and the lure hooked to his mouth embedded itself into my shorts, right in front of my Johnson and family jewels. That was the only time I can remember that I was glad I had a small Johnson. Holy crap, what do I do now? The huge, sharp hooks, and a mouth full of sharp Muskie teeth were just millimeters from my manhood, and thrashing around ever closer. I had to act fast,I didn't h