close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Freshwater bonefish...newbie

Discussion in 'Fish on the Fly' started by creekwalker, Jun 11, 2007.

1. creekwalker

creekwalker Moving water...

I targeted carp on the long rod for the first time this weekend. I used a crayfish and brown woolly bugger fly, but had no luck. Really didn't even get a look. I was casting about 5+ feet in front of them and drifting it into where they were rooting. It was also the middle of the afternoon.

I'm not that good with hook sizes, but these were small as far as crayfish and woolly buggers go.

Any tips on targeting carp with fly rod? I found a good post on the forums - link.

I also found a site listed on a post American Carp Society.

One problem I may have been having is the drift. I was fishing on a trib of the Ohio River near a dam and the creek would flow one direction, then the other based on the locks at the dam. The current would pick up then die down. I wasn't fishing any weight and I'm afraid I didn't get it down fast enough and keep it in the zone long enough.

Will they come after the fly or do you have to drift it really close for them to stumble on it?

CW

2. cw - I started seriously fishing for Carp last year. It took a few trips before I could differentiate between carp that were actively feeding and those that weren't. I'm not saying that this is what happened to you, but I know that I spent considerable time casting to fish that weren't active.

If they were rooting as you indicated, it would seem to me that would indicate that they were feeding. My experience has been that if I do not spook the Carp, and get my presentation in their window of vision, I usually end up getting the fish to strike.