close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Flyrod - trouble casting with float

Discussion in 'Steelhead Talk' started by Johnny Bravo, Dec 2, 2008.

1. I'm new to the flyfishing game and I'm pretty much hooked....after 27 years of using spinning and baitcasting gear. It's a total blast, but I can't figure out how to cast when I'm using the rather large floats when drifting for steel. I'm using the medium sized foam floats suggested to me by Craig at Erie Outfitters.

What kind of cast do you use when fishing with the float? I'm assuming it's not a typical overhand or side cast. Every few casts I end up with a big mess. Please help.

JB

2. I always try to fish the smallest practical strike indicator possible and no indicator when conditions permit. With that being said I slow down my casting timing and be sure to stop the back cast around 11:30 which gets the line above horizontal. My forward cast stops mometary around 9:30.
    The roll cast works well but I have never mastered it for casting beyond around 20/25ft.:(
    Quite honestly, I am usually fishing around 40/45ft away max.

3. Fishaholic69

Fishaholic69 Fly Fishing Addict

like shortdrift says. it sounds like your timing is off on your cast. make sure your line is straightening up and your rod is loaded properly before you start that forward cast. shouldn't tangle up anymore. also I am kinda new also only flying it a year and a half or so and I have been reading up on this looping cast that lets the fly and shot land before the indicator. this gives you no drag on your fly and shot from your indicator to get your fly down faster in higher faster flows. I would learn how to cast basic casts first tho
    heres a few tips on casting http://www.orvis.com/intro.asp?dir_id=758&subject=179&bhcp=1

4. a large indecator really brings out any mistakes in a casting stroke, some of the most common are
    -not pausing long enough on the backcast, or the whole cast being to fast