Ohio Game Fishing banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
835 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello fellow fly fisherman, I'm new to tying, I'm wondering if there are any tying workshops near the Akron area?

·
Registered
2,687 Posts
You may want to google it or do a Facebook search…also YouTube has a lot of them from beginners to experienced…good luck

·
Registered
835 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hey Joe, You Tube is where I'm learning. It's a great resource. I was just hoping to find a small group for more personal experience. The fly shop in Volant, PA has classes, but is an hour away. I joined TU, but due to covid, they don't meet anymore.

·
1 fish is a he!! of alot more than none.
2,036 Posts
I don't think TMF Sport shop is still in business in Ravenna. That is where I learned, at their original location, 30 plus years ago. Most clubs like TU and CMNHTC are not meeting in person yet. But soon.
Rickerd

·
Registered
982 Posts
EVERYTHING you need to know is online, mostly at Tie Like A Pro. It's pretty much all spelled out, plus Gunnar (web owner and great fly-tyer) is starting a new series on fly-tying. I would check it out.

·
Registered
35 Posts
Check out Fins in Canton, talked to an employee there that had some classes. I use to get emails on when they held them but I don't have that email anymore.

·
Registered
144 Posts
Kelly Galloup of the Slide inn ties a lot of flies on his you tube channel. His videos are long because he goes over a lot of techniques. Savage Flies by a guy named Matt O'Neill is a good you tube channel.
Go to you tube and search for the flies you want to tie and someone will show you how. The best fly tyer I ever saw is Barry Orde Clark. His you tube channel is the Feather Bender.
Do you need to find out what you need to get started or do you have your tools and materials?

·
1 fish is a he!! of alot more than none.
2,036 Posts
I love the Barry Orde Clark tying videos. His voice even sounds classic. Great techniques also.