close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Fly Question for GMR

Discussion in 'Fish on the Fly' started by CO_Trout, Sep 7, 2008.

1. I am new to Fly fishing for bass, grew up fly fishing for trout in Colorado. Once I moved here to Ohio, I haven't been out fly fishing, didn't know you could use the fly rod to fish for bass.

I pulled out the fly rod this weekend on a couple of small creeks around Middletown (Gregory creek & Elk creek). Ended up catching about 10 smallies (6 -12 inches), 5 bluegill (4 -8 inches), and a few creek chubs (6 inches). Caught all of them on a size 14 Prince Nymph and a size 12Grey Stone Fly Nymph.

I just want to know if it is worth trying to fly fish the GMR in Middletown. And if so, what fly's tend to work better than others.

2. when fishing warmwater I tend to go much larger than trout fishing, and I use much more active presentations. wooly buggers, clousers, and poppers are the main fair, I like big flies, cover sizes from #8-2/0. fish heavy cover and dont forget the frog water. if you want something more familiar both brookville and the mad river are about an hour from you I think, and both are pretty good trout streams though they can be challenging. if you have two flies for local warmwater, a size 4 chart. clouser and a #6 olive bugger.

3. Tall cool one

Tall cool one strictly flyfishing