floro leaders

Discussion in 'Steelhead Talk' started by TRIPLE-J, Nov 12, 2007.

1. To all the guys that troll for steelhead I was wondering what brand and what pound test florocarbon you use for leaders. And do you use longer leaders with it or shorter. I've never used it before so any input would be great. Thanks.
    TRIPLE-J

2. I just use 6# Vanish Fluorocarbon, hasnt dissapointed me so far.

3. I believe Seagaur makes the best flurocarbon products. Depending on the type water and specie you are fishing for dictates what to use(in my opinion).
    For river fishing and lakes where tou will encounter a lot of rocks and other structure you should select the true "Leader Material" as it is much more abraision resistant the the "Line" which will not stand the same amount of abuse but is much more limp. The Leader Material is much more expensive than the Line. There is a third choice from Seagaur which is their top end Leader Product that is thinner in diameter for the same pound test than the standard Leader. It is also MUCH more expensive but allows you to use a less abvious leader with superior strength. I only use the high end leader material when steelhead and trout fishing.

4. i like seaguar,and ashima. 6 and 8lb test

5. Thanks for the replies guys, Will probably try the seagar. Have heard nothing but good things about it.
    Triple-j

6. DanAdelman

DanAdelman getting jigging with it

i would have to say no on the vanish... I hated that line...just didn't work for me....