close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

flatheads where & how

Discussion in 'Catfish Discussion' started by larry2473, Nov 5, 2004.

1. larry2473

larry2473 nw ohio flatheads

I have been fishing for flatheads for about 4 years now. I have only fished for them in the maumee river. me best so far is a few over 40lbs. this year i caught 9 over 30 biggest being 39lbs never broke fifty yet. never tried after water starts to cool off. so i was just wondering if anyone could help me brake fifty. maybe try new spot next year a little usually use green sunfish bullheads and crappie for bait depending where i am fishing have creek i fish in and usually catch green sunfish 6 to 8 inches anything that might help would be appriciated got to break fifty best night this year me and buddy caught 16 flatties my biggest for the year was that night 39lbs 8 ounces
    my best night was year ago july 16 in three hours high water ran out of bait
    is that good? I was also wanting tips on how to catch them later in the year
    where i fish there is not alot of spots to get to the river and gets shallow in alot of spot probably averages 5 foot need help hooked an flathead got to love them big ugly fish

2. Baitkiller

Baitkiller Baitkiller

Larry

"OPININON"
    I'm fairly new to the Flatheads but from what I read and been told is that 55 degrees water temps is about when they slow way up or stop bitting. The Ohio River is or maybe the only place left over thoses temps that I know of.

http://www.lrd-wc.usace.army.mil/navtemp.html

I to am hooked on the Flatheads and am now at 39# for my BF. We are both in seach of the same fish. If you have a boat you may try the bottoms of the Islands on the Ohio River. Thats where I heard and seen where alot of the bigger Flats are taken from from what little I know. I have one picked out for my new big fish in "05"!

Hope this helps a little
    <><Baitkiller><>