close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Fishing for Bass in Weeds

Discussion in 'Southwest Ohio Fishing Reports' started by CO_Trout, May 31, 2008.

1. I am still new to Bass Fishing. Went to a pond in West Chester last night and was :S .

I tried several spinnerbaits and some crank baits. Everything I threw out came back with weeds attached to it, even the top water lures.

What is the best way to fish for Bass in weeded areas???

2. Need to buy some weedless lures and/or hooks and attached an artificial bait to it. Forget about spinner baits when fishing vegetation. Crankbait are also a bad idea unless you are cast just short of the weeds, attempting to lure the bass out of the vegitation.

What you use will depend on the amount, type, and thickness of the vegitation, as well as where the bass are hitting (on top, 1 foot under, or deeper).

I'm no expert, but absolutely love fishing for bass in vegitation. My favorite is a weedless frog (or Kermie as me and my friends call it). Just about any place that sells rods and hooks will also have a weedless frog lure. Pick up some weedless hooks to, and make your own setup by attaching soft plastic artificial baits.

When you find the right setup for the pond and when the bass are in the vegitation, you'll have a blast. Don't forget about your line too. If the vegitation is really thick, you'll want at least 8lb test to pull out those bass when they dive for cover. And when they get hooked, they WILL dive down into cover.

3. freyedknot

freyedknot useless poster

try some weedless top water baits worked real slow. and aggitate them with some fast topwater baits on another rod .i like to use a rubber frog real slow and natural.

4. Nothing like a weedless frog but if that ain't working, try some rubber worms.

5. montagc

montagc Always an inch shy

Tube on a weedless jighead. You will still get gunkedup every now and again, but it will sink into the holes in the weeds where the fish are.