close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

fish/depthfinder problems

Discussion in 'Central Ohio Fishing Reports' started by Gfhteen, Jul 15, 2004.

1. well my grandpa got a new eagle fish finder and i took it out for the first time yesterday...my question is how does it read or scan...when sittting still the screen is always moving and changing. i know it only looks down so how big of a diameter does it read from...i am new to fish finder any help please

2. freyedknot

freyedknot useless poster

you should see the bottom with only a slight change ,because the boat will move slightly , either from wind or just movement . but you will see the same pic . area viewed depends on water depth.the deeper the bigger area because the transducer sends out the signal in a cone. shallow water gives you a small pic of the bottom. read the manual and experiment with the settings.especially in deeper water where you know fish are holding. lake erie is a good area to do this especially because of all the fish holding areas that hold perch sheaphead and other fish . or try to find schools of bait and play with the sensitivity and try to find a school of crappie.less sensitivety will show only bigger fish. if your screen is cluttered then your sens is too h9igh. then try this in manual mode to see fish arches.hope this helps , i am not an expert by no means but i try.

3. hey thanks alot...ill mess with it alittle more the nextt ime we are out and see if i can get the hang of it...when i say it kept changing, it moves from right to left, is this maybe just a way of refreshing the picture?

4. GFHTEEN: Go to the Eagle Electronics web-site. you can download a program that shows you everything you need to know. It looks just like you are looking in the screen of your finder. you can do it all on your computer except catch the fish. Really neat. Good Luck