close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

First duck!

Discussion in 'Waterfowl Hunting' started by Star1pup, Oct 24, 2004.

1. I've been hunting for many years, but never tried waterfowl. A couple of really nice guys took me Saturday. Not a lot flying, but I got a beautiful woodie. Sure nice to go with someone who knows what they're doing and is willing to share. :)

2. Good job! It is sure hard to beat a drake woodie for beauty! My brother-in-law got his first duck saturday morning, a nice drake mallard.

3. great job on the that drake woodie.

Bub

4. congrats to you star1............ I also got my first duck on saterday....... it was a greenwinged teal :D ..... I went out a couple of times in the last week and had several shots i could have taken but they were so quick and I wasnt sure about the distances ... Because I am used to deer hunting with "one shot one kill" and after letting plenty go by... I got my one shot that I wanted... :)

5. freyedknot

freyedknot useless poster

good job ! now the fun really starts now that you got the first one behind you.

6. I know it is waterfowl season when I get more sleep on workdays...And at least once in January, in a deep sleep, I sit upright in bed and scream "take 'em!!", causing the lab to jump into action and me to scrape my wife off of the ceiling.

Seriously though, I hope that your woodie is the first of many. With any luck, you will form an obsession with weather reports, develop a nervous twitch whenever anything flys through your periphial vision, stop whatever you are doing or saying at the slightest hint of a quack or a honk and the curious habit of not being able to drive past ANY body of water without checking it for birds. Welcome to the club!

And Chippewa- nice job with the teal and thanks for not blazing away at everything that flew by, there are way too many "waterfowlers" who could use a good dose of patience! :( :mad: