fire line question

Discussion in 'Tackle Talk' started by jeffmo, Mar 30, 2008.

1. jeffmo

jeffmo officially unofficial!!!!

i caught the tail end of a fishing show segment the other day where they were talking about fire line.they were fishing for crappie,using spinning reels?rods and using jigs.the guy stated that he didn't get the usual line twist with fire line that he gets with regular mon line.just curious if this is true.if so, i'm going to switch lines this year on the reels that i use to jig with.

2. BigDaddy300

BigDaddy300 multi species angler

It has been true for me. I have been using it to jig with for about 5 years now.

3. PapawSmith

PapawSmith Bud n Burgers

While Fireline definatey has it's qualities, I still use smaller diameters for crappie and such, it also has flaws. I used to use it exclusively until it chased me to braided line in larger diameters.. Fireline, to me, has a very peculiar almost 'brittle' problem. After too many cast off lures, and too many snapped off fish I finally gave up. If you kink or abrase this line forget it, it's done. If you, on your retrive, pull your lure off the surface and wind your line around the tip you better cut it off and re-tie. If you don't you will cast off on your next cast. I tend to be lazy, and not perfectly focused, so for 6lb and larger this is the wrong line for me. Just my two lincolns.

4. misfit

misfit MOD SQUAD

it's true that fireline will not twist like mono,but i like 6 lb. mono for jigs and most other baits for crappie.as with all lines,it has it's pros and cons for different applications.i do use fireline for vertical jigging or casting blades and spoons for crappies though.