Ohio Game Fishing banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
518 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
First, thanks to all who post information here and those who replied to me.

We (dad, sis, I) fished Geneva friday for first time over east. Late start, went straight out looking for marks, none found so put lines out 10:00am at N-42.00 W 81.00. We picked 1 -28" right away, then took till 1:00 to get a 2nd one. Had to leave lake at 2:00pm so that was it. NE wind and waves gave us fits. Probably should have trolled with waves instead of NE. Boat was slewing with compass heading NE but GPS trail due North.

Question - How do you locate the fish before fishing? should I have kept looking for good marks before starting to troll? I ran 20mph to coordinates where fish were day or 2 earlier. Slowed to 15mph and occasionally to 5mph just to make sure not missing them. I am still learning how to read the LCX28C at speed. Settings are factory/auto. I could see my perch rig going up and down clearly last time out. We searched for about hour, heading N-NE toward the lines reported for Bula. Was not seeing much of anything, no bait clouds, or large fish marks, occasionally small marks on bottom especially in the 45-50fow range.

I have been out walleye trolling only 3 times this year, At Kelley's Island in May we had good marks all the time under us for 1 fish. Posts that weekend, everybody had tough time catching fish. At Lorain sandbar and out to weather buoy, never found good marks but 3 of us managed 8 eyes and 48 very large white bass just trolling the Canadian line N-NE then south. Was a good day. Last Geneva, no marks, but did pick up 2 large eyes.

I have been trying to be patient and use the electronics to find the fish before fishing. Has my experience been typical?, what should I be doing different? I hope to get one more shot at the Geneva/Bula pack next week or 2. After that it will be Huron/Catawba in November-December.

·
Registered
1,544 Posts
Chris