close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Finally dumping AOL........

Discussion in 'Computing & Gaming Discussions' started by Alwsfishin, Jan 5, 2005.

1. Alwsfishin

Alwsfishin '73 24' Stamas

Well I'm gonna do it ....despite the complaints from the family....I've been using Firefox for a few months and set up a homepage on yahoo with 75% of the info being fishing....and its all at no cost.

Does anyone have any comments or suggestions on using yahoo for email and surfing?

thanks in advance

2. I Did Have Problems With Aol Too..but After I Got A New Computer Most Of It Was Fixed..im On 9.0 Now An It Seems Better

3. Alwsfishin

Hi there Richard !!!....hope your doin fine....

its not so much the problems...it mostly the $200+ a year....when I can get a faster more efficient service for free....I just bought a new puter also ....beefed up too....and have the highest speed internet from WOW cable and the pages still take several seconds to load to much of the time...

4. Im Doing Better Frank Thanks For Asking
    4 Weeks Was A Long Stay
    Which One Are You Using Is Free?
    I Like The Way Aol Is Set Up..i Complained To Em Sometimes And Always Got Free Mos.for My Troubles

5. Alwsfishin

Glad to hear that !!..........Mozilla Firefox.........Its like Microsofts I/Explorer...which I wanted to get away from using also....there is a post in here referring to virus's being targeted at MicroS IE....

6. I love yahoo and use SBCYahoo for my ISP too

7. You will be rather happy with Firefox. As you mentioned you will be able to better avoid the spyware there than IE. I use Yahoo for an e-mail account and have no problems whatsoever. And it is really nice because it gives you portability of your e-mail. You can hop on from anyone's system to check your messages.

8. how do you figure it will be free? Dont you still need a provider to log on? I have msn and have been looking to dump it also.

9. Alwsfishin