close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

few ?'s on trolling

Discussion in 'Tackle Talk' started by rolland, Feb 5, 2009.

1. rolland

rolland Fishing Noob

Ok, im going to be setting up a few rods to troll around milton this next season. Never done it before so im totally new to this :). I have done some reading research so I have a grasp on what I want to acomplish but have a few questions. I am going to be using bottom bouncers for bottom and 3 way set up for 5-20' down (1 oz per 10 ft). Going to be trolling mainly rapalas and worm harnesses.

Ok my next step is deciding what rod/reel combos im going to use and what line. I have a ton of rod/reels and would like to use 1 of my current set ups, I have enough to buy before spring. Is there a diffrence wether to use a bait caster or spinning reel? Is one better then the other or does it even matter as long as its got a good drag system? And as far as the rod I want a long 7-8' med/hvy action right?

Now the line, when lining up my 3 way should I use a slightly less pound line on the weight so if I get snaged I will only lose the weight or will that mess me up?

Guess I asked enough questions for 1 post, ill save some more for later :p. Ummm if it matters I will be trolling with a 14' aluminum I have a trolling and gas moter, im planing on getting a gps/finder to track my MPH.

2. Sounds like you are targeting eyes. If so you could use M to MH rods. The longer you have the more separation you'll get but use what you have. Baitcasters are easier to use as they fit nicely in the rod holders but again, spinning reels work too. I would spool it up with 10 to 14# superbraid and use a fluorocarbon leader for cranks. If you can pick up some inline boards cheap the can get you away from the boat and be productive.

3. triton175

triton175 STX 206 Viper

I agree with what Steve said. Sounds exactly like what I do.