close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Ever catch a bass near a log with a turtle on top?

Discussion in 'Bass Discussions' started by Rooster, Apr 24, 2004.

1. This is only a half-serious question, but I’m becoming progressively obsessed with this question! OK, a few years ago I remember one of the godfathers of BASS joke that they had never caught a bass near a log that had a turtle on it. Now, everytime I see a turtle on a log, I make the cast to try and disprove this theory. However, I have been doing this for a few years now, and have not caught a bass. So, what are your thoughts?

2. catking

catking Banned

ROOSTER- Now you've gone and done it, everybody will be lookin for logs and turtles......... :rolleyes: CATKING !!!

3. ShakeDown

ShakeDown OGF Staff Staff Member Admin

I guess I never paid attention. Will now though :)

4. Sorry! I truly wish that I had never been exposed to this idea. I Just hope that someone disproves the idea, and I can start concentrating on fishing and not the turtles.

5. JBJ

JBJ

I caught a bass holding on a log that did have a turtle on it. It was the ONLY one I pitched to when the turtle did not jump off. My opinion is that when these turtles splash into the water they startle the fish away.

6. Lundy

Lundy Staff Member

I fish Lake fork in texas quite a bit and all of the bays are full of timber and a million turtles.

It would harder to catch a bass by a log that didn't have a turtle on it than vice versa down there. There are hundreds of targets (logs and standing timber) within casting distance almost everywhere all of the time. The shallow spawning bays in the spring are covered up with turtles and filled with bass. The hard part there is just being able to move through all of the trees and logs without hanging your boat up every few minutes.

A good question there would be to determine if the logs with one turtle are better than a log with 8 turtles. :D

Kim