close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Equipment Needed for Wading Mosquito?

Discussion in 'Northeast Ohio Fishing Reports' started by RogerBarker, Apr 13, 2008.

1. Mosquito Guys,
    I’d like to try wading Mosquito for slabs and walleye. I have waders with felt soles & spikes. Are these suitable? Please help me with my equipment list:
    1. Waders, felt soles & spikes?
    2. Spinning rig, noodle rod?
    3. Minnows
    4. Special minnow bucket for wading?
    5. Preferred stringer?
    6. Lures-rigging for crappie?
    7. Lures-rigging for walleye?
    8. ?
    9. ?
    I’m a real novice – Assume I know nothing in your suggestions. I did grow up near Lake Erie and caught perch & white bass and fished for walleye and northern pike in Canada. In my youth I fished with my uncle in Canada for northerns and walleye.
    Thanks for any help.
    Roger Barker

2. I'd say beyond waders you want:

1/8 and 1/4 oz jigheads in varying colors and some twister tails. These will do ya fine for both crappie and walleyes.

Any spinning set up should be fine for the eyes. Noodle rod could be helpful if you want to dip minnows in the brush piles of pikie bay for crappie.

I prefer the metal stringers with swivels. you can use this to tow your minnow bucket around as well.

a net ( not necessary but can be very helpful).

Headlamp- staying out past dark to get the most of the bite is a lot easier and more fun if you can see.

Find yourself a point with a rock bottom and you should be catchin em in no time.

3. Narf,

Thanks for the good info. Do I use the jigs below a bobber? How do you work them this time of year? (I've never really fished a jig before!)

Thanks again,
    Roger

4. snake69

snake69 Equal opportunity fishing