Emerald Necklace Steelies?

Discussion in 'Northeast Ohio Fishing Reports' started by GaryV311, Oct 18, 2007.

1. GaryV311

GaryV311 Trout Hunter

I'm going there Sunday morning. Is anyone catching steelheads there yet?

2. Typically more fisherman than fish. If we don't receive the forecasted rain (> .25"), better to fish the lakefront piers or walls. If we get the rain, we should get a good push of fish. The only problem would be if the water would be clear enough to fish on Sunday if we receive the rain.

A few fish are present, but not real active since the water is warm, clear, and very low.

3. GaryV311

GaryV311 Trout Hunter

Where are the walls? I'm pretty new to fishing and dont know many of the spots.

4. freyedknot

freyedknot useless poster

right at the ramp.can't miss em.

5. GaryV311

GaryV311 Trout Hunter

The boat ramp at Emerald? (not too sure if my lack of knowledge on this is fully understood haha)

6. The walls you are looking for are at all the Mouths of the rivers. Rocky,Lorain,Vermillion,Fairport Harbor, etc..... Steel hit it on the head regarding rain,warmth of water, clarity and so on. Great Post! The steelhead are stacking up right now from East to West along Lake Erie shorelines just waiting for the rivers to fill up so they can make their run up!

7. "the lakefront piers or walls"

I'm referring to the public walls (piers) near the black (lorain), chagrin (eastlake), grand (grand river/painesville), conneaut (near p.a. border). Other places not near rivers but still public piers or walls were a few steelies might be found include edgewater and east 55th/72nd (Cleveland).

The area at the mouth of the rocky is private, accessible by knowing someone who lives there or by boat. The wall in that private area is no trespassing for all.

8. GaryV311

GaryV311 Trout Hunter