electrical problem/ ignition switch or short?

Discussion in 'Boats and Motors' started by 1morecast, Jun 12, 2008.

1. i have a 1993 lowe outboard with a 70 horse engine, bought it used. it has been running great but recently i have been having problems with it starting.
    example....it will start up great, ill turn it off. sometimes when i go to restart and turn the key i get nothing.....try it a few more time....nothing, let it sit, try it again, fires right up.....in the course of an evening of 10-15 restarts it will happen 2-3 times...i am no mechanic when it comes to electrical or engines for that matter.....so i'm not sure what it could be, ignition? loose wire, checked the battery cables they look fine, this all strted happening after a big lake erie day and the boat took a beating from the wave, at least this is the only thing differnt that i can think of.....so maybe a loose wire,could it be a starter problem?
    thanks

2. KaGee

KaGee Monkeywrench Staff Member

Start with your battery connection. Make sure it is tight and clean of corrosion. Inside the cowl, follow the cable and there is a start solenoid. Make sure the connections are tight there and free of corrosion. (Disconnect the battery first otherwise you might do some arc welding) Likewise check the connections on the starter motor. Make sure the battery ground connection to the engine block is tight and free of corrosion.

If connections are clean and tight, the possibilities are:
    Defective ignition switch or wiring connection.
    Solenoid going bad.
    Starter motor has a bad spot on the armature. (Rebuild or Replace)

You'll need a volt/ohm meter to trouble shoot and a service manual to help you trace the wires.

3. freyedknot

freyedknot useless poster

could also be your neutral safety switch located below the shifter control in the shifter box. it is a small button switch that only allows starting in neutral.