close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

electric fillet knives?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by freyedknot, May 28, 2005.

1. freyedknot

freyedknot useless poster

i just baught a rapala electric fillet knife . as i was cleaning up 5 eyes ,the handle was getting hot and it smelled like it was burning up. is this common or should i return it?

2. does'nt sound right to me, but maybe Swantucky will shout in since he has one. Mine is a different brand and sometimes the handle gets a little hot after charging but never cleaning fish

3. I have been cleaning fish with a electric knife for around 30 years now and never had one get hot maybe a little warm but never hot or smokin and i have cleaned a lot of fish over the years. I always buy the cheap knifes at Big Lots under 10 bucks or at yard sales have never had a proublem i think i would take it back. Good Luck Fishguy :)

4. Take it back. If it was old and sitting around and maybe got dusty it may smoke a little. But a new knife should not smoke. It shouldn't get hot either.
    I bought a rechargeable Rapala with two batteries and I can't clean 7 fish with them. Thinking on taking it back.

5. Bassnpro1

Bassnpro1 OSU outdoorsman

I have the rapala knife and it gets fairly warm if I go through 30 or so gills non-stop. Never smelled anything burning though.

6. Buy a boning knife and a steel..You won't be sorry...

7. freyedknot

freyedknot useless poster

i returned the rapala knife to gander mtn. thanx again ogf guys. fot a good gerber fillet knife i will keep using. gander mtn has a 9inch gerber fillet knife for $14.99. seemed kinda high in price .i have a 6 or 7 inch gerber for about 5 bucks that i baught at rickards a few years back.

8. captnroger

captnroger OGF Webmaster

Well I would have said the same thing until a buddy turned me on to electrics. I'm hooked.

9. misfit

misfit MOD SQUAD

same here :)