Ohio Game Fishing banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone given it a try lately? I was just wondering how the bite was for bluegill and perch befor I drive 2 house up there to fish Friday morning. Also how bad are the weeds?

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I'm really kinda just looking to fish the harbor I have an 18ft bass boat but not really sure if I'm comfortable going to far out into the main lake and I dont really know where all of these areas are like D can or B can for example. I would like to venture out there sometime but I want to upgrade some stuff on my boat first befor I do.

·
Registered
147 Posts
I'll be honest- ive never done well there after july 1 for panfish. I think the fish scatter out over the whole harbor. I'm no pro, but my suggestion would be to keep moving don't stay in one place too long if ur not getting fish.

Theres another fella posting in NW Ohio reports about his panfishing success (on inland lakes) recently, he seems to be fishing the last 1-2 hours of daylight. In east harbor, thats a problem because Tibbles marina makes you return by 8. Can't launch at the state park unless you are camping, and I personnally have never made the run from Mazurik to the harbor, its not long but I wouldn't want to do it in the dark.

If you can get out at first light (Tibbles opens at 6 I beleive) and fish the first 2 hours of light that might be the best option.

·
Registered
228 Posts
Weeds are the reason that place produces! No spray just a use a rake or a machine to make a channel ! The state screwed it up a while back
DNR at Lake Guntersville several years back sprayed and ruin the bass fishing. Now they use a combiner. do some designated area for boaters and fisherman. lake back again and doing well

·
Registered
413 Posts
Deer Hunter 1,
I have fished east harbor twice in the last 3 weeks. 53 really nice bluegill (3.5 pounds after we filleted them). only