Dumb questions

Discussion in 'Central Ohio Fishing Reports' started by Villain, Feb 19, 2008.

1. Ok, some of my questions sound dumb, but I am tired of trying "my way" when "my way" could bu the wrong way.

When fishing for toohty fisy, is it best to attach a steel leeder to the end of your line and attach the lure to the leeder?

How can I fish the bottom of a spillway and minimize the number if lost hooks and bait?

when fishing for Saugueye, Bass and the loke, is it best to have one smooth retrieve rythm, or retrieve and jerk your rod simultaneously?

I apologize for the silly questions, but I am fairly new to fishing for more that cats and crappie, and am losing the battle each time I come back empty handed. Any help would be great and hopefully I'll be able to post som pictures of my monster catches in the future.

2. By far i am nowhere close to being an expert in spillway fishing. But, i have caught a couple over the course of the years. Lure retrieve can be any of the ways you mentioned. I have caught fish all three ways. The fish will dictate your retrieve. I have also caught them using a jigging approach. Let the bait settle and then bring the rod tip up.This applies to saugeye cause i really dont fish for bass much. Water flow will also impact how you retrieve. If you are fishing a faster current your bait is going to get swept down stream faster. So a faster retrieve is a must. Hope this helps in some way. Good luck.

3. When you talk about "toothy" critters that could include various species. I would say that most everyone show fishes for eyes (walleye/sageye/sauger) choose not to use a steel leader. Most when fishing for pike and musky choose to use a leader. As with everything you will get some who do not follow the norm.