Ohio Game Fishing banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Bass are for guys who can't catch Walleye
1,194 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I mostly troll for walleyes but, I would like to try my hand again at drifting. What are the popular rigs/lures that are being used? Bottom Bouncers are a no brainer, the last time I was out on a drift charter the Erie Dearie was real popular and the Weapon was just getting started. Also, what colors are you guys using? Do you cast with mono or braid? I appreciate any help & ideas you have and are willing to share.

·
Registered
1,963 Posts
I'm no expert but I like to throw Erie Dearie knock offs, weight forward spinners. I use 10 pound mono, my buddy uses 12. Today was slow for us the wind picked up in our area and really put a damper on things. But what we did catch was on gold and yellow. Gold is my go to color, just my opinion. I think this method will catch walleye just about anywhere, just using the ol' count down.

·
Registered
83 Posts
I use worm harnesses with floaters and depending on conditions I use a little weight. Orange has been good, and pinks, golds. Search around on here and you can find lots of info on this.

·
Registered
667 Posts
I like a harness rig or mayfly rig...essentially both are a spinner and bead setup above either a single hook or a two hook harness, rigged on a length of mono. Some folks call the one hook setup a casting rig or mayfly rig or weapon and the two hook harness a drifting rig. Myself, I use either one for either technique...I cast both on occasions and drag with the drift both as well. The mono rig can be anywhere from 18 - 36 inches long...I like shorter for casting (less tangles). (You go through more crawlers when casting a harness versus single hook, but there are days I think it works better to have that long worm strung out.)